About TAFE NSW qualifications

TAFE NSW offers a range of nationally recognised qualifications including Certificates I to IV, Diplomas, Advanced Diplomas, Graduate Certificates and Graduate Diplomas.

Nationally recognised qualifications measure up to rigorous national standards, and ensure that employers and training organisations throughout Australia understand what a particular qualification means, what you've learnt and what your skills are.

National Training Framework (NTF)

The National Training Framework (NTF) is a set of nationally agreed standards which ensure the quality of vocational education and training services throughout Australia. It consists of the Australian Quality Training Framework (AQTF) and Training Packages:

  • The AQTF makes sure Registered Training Organisations (RTOs) and the qualifications they issue are recognised throughout Australia. TAFE NSW Institutes are RTOs and have ISO 9001:2000 certification, demonstrating ongoing commitment to quality management and continuous improvement to provide better training outcomes for students
  • Training Packages specify the skills and knowledge required for different jobs within an industry. They are developed in consultation with industry and are updated regularly to ensure their currency and relevance. When you graduate with a nationally recognised qualification from TAFE NSW, you'll have gained skills and knowledge closely linked to your chosen industry's needs. Employers can be confident that you can perform tasks at a required industry standard.

Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF)

The Australian Qualifications Framework (AQF) is a quality assured national framework of qualifications in the school, vocational education and training (VET), and higher education sectors in Australia. All AQF courses offered by TAFE NSW are nationally recognised.

AQF qualifications promote lifelong learning and allow you to start at the level that suits you and then build up your qualifications and move between different education systems as your needs and interests develop and change over time. AQF qualifications link with each other in a range of learning pathways between schools, VET providers and higher education institutions.

AQF Framework

* A record of one or more units of competency or modules from an AQF course. Although not itself an AQF qualification, it may be counted towards one later.

National Codes

A National Code is assigned to each nationally approved course or qualification to indicate recognition throughout Australia. Where applicable, National Codes are listed in each course description.

Enquiries: Courses / General / Business